For Writers and Illustrators

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alison Stuart's novel, The Postmistress is a stunning historical tale of loss, desire and courage that is full of the terror and the beauty of the Australian bush, for readers of The Thorn Birds, The Naturalist's Daughter and The Widow of Ballarat.
homegrownhobsonsbay

Event Date Sunday 21 July, 3:00pm
Event End Date Sunday 21 July, 4:30pm
Location Williamstown Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

Celebrate your city and its architecture. Join us for free guided tours at the 12th annual Open House Melbourne as we explore the pages of Williamstown Library, recognised as one of the '1001 libraries to see before you die'. 30 minute tours on Saturday 27 July, 10.30am and 11.30am and  Sunday 28 July, 2.30pm and 3.30pm.

Event Date Saturday 27 July, 10:30am
Event End Date Sunday 28 July, 4:00pm
Location Williamstown Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

For all unpublished writers of fiction, non-fiction and memoir.

Event Date Saturday 27 July, 1:30pm
Event End Date Saturday 27 July, 3:30pm
Location Altona North Community Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

For all unpublished writers of fiction, non-fiction and memoir.

Event Date Saturday 24 August, 1:30pm
Event End Date Saturday 24 August, 3:30pm
Location Altona North Community Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

Editors Randa Abdel-Fattah and Sara Saleh discuss their anthology Arab, Australian, Other, and the importance of community storytelling. The collection’s stories explore experiences of growing up as a member of the Arab diaspora in Australia, and the impact on identity, belonging and isolation.
MWF logo

Event Date Monday 2 September, 6:30pm
Event End Date Monday 2 September, 7:30pm
Location Newport Community Hub

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stalked: the human target is a detailed account of the effects of stalking, which is experienced by a shockingly high proportion of the population and it’s not just celebrities. Rachel Cassidy discusses how to survive a stalker and build a new life of achievement and hope.

Event Date Wednesday 4 September, 6:30pm
Event End Date Wednesday 4 September, 7:30pm
Location Altona North Community Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

Join Homegrown Hobsons Bay writer, A.M. Stuart for the launch of Singapore sapphire, the first in the Harriet Gordon historical mystery series.
homegrownhobsonsbay

Event Date Wednesday 11 September, 6:30pm
Event End Date Wednesday 11 September, 8:00pm
Location Williamstown Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

Join Homegrown Hobsons Bay writer Nean Mc Kenzie for the launch of Cryptosight, an adventure for 8-12 year olds. Rafferty Kaminsky, 13 years old, believes in facts. His father searches for creatures not proven to exist.

homegrownhobsonsbay

Event Date Sunday 15 September, 2:30pm
Event End Date Sunday 15 September, 4:00pm
Location Williamstown Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

From the old masters to the new breed of popular Instagram poets; poetry inspires, informs, challenges and touches us.
Join us for a discussion of the poetry we love to read again and again

Australian Reading Hour logo

Event Date Thursday 19 September, 10:30am
Event End Date Thursday 19 September, 11:30am
Location Williamstown Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

For all unpublished writers of fiction, non-fiction and memoir.

Event Date Saturday 21 September, 1:30pm
Event End Date Saturday 21 September, 3:30pm
Location Altona North Community Library