Book Sales

HBL friends

Book sales are held by the Friends of Altona Libraries and the Friends of Williamstown and Newport Libraries on a regular basis, with funds raised for resources and equipment needed to keep Hobsons Bay Libraries running smoothly. 

Book sales contain second hand books donated by the community, as well as library stock taken out of circulation. Please note that as part of our commitment to keeping COVID-safe, we are unable to accept donations at this time.

Due to Stage 4 Coronavirus Restrictions, our Friends of Williamstown and Newport Libraries sale WILL NOT go ahead on Saturday 13 February as previously planned. We apologise for any inconvenience. Please visit our Coronavirus updates page for further information.

 

Book sale dates for 2021

Friends of Altona Libraries
Friends of Williamstown and Newport Libraries

Altona Library
123 Queen Street
The Book Sale Room, entry at rear of Altona Library

1st Tuesday, Friday and Saturay of each month, 10am to 1pm

Friends of Altona Libraries will resume from Tuesday 2 March 2021. As part of our commitment to keeping COVID-safe, please note the following conditions of entry when visiting our Book Sales:

  • In line with current State Government requirements, masks will be required inside the Book Room.
  • If staying for longer than 15 minutes, you will need to add your details to the sign in sheet. This is for contact tracing purposes only.
  • A limit of 6 people will be allowed inside the Book Room at a time.

Upcoming sales:

  • March: Friday 5 March 2021, Saturday 6 March 2021
  • April: Tuesday 6 April 2021 
  • May: Saturday 1 May 2021, Tuesday 4 May 2021, Friday 7 May 2021
  • June: Tuesday 1 June 2021, Friday 4 June 2021, Saturday 5 June 2021
  • July: Friday 2 July 2021, Saturday 3 July 2021, Tuesday 6 July 2021
  • August: Tuesday 3 August 2021, Friday 6 August 2021, Saturday 7 August 2021
  • September: Friday 3 September 2021, Saturday 4 September 2021, Tuesday 7 September 2021
  • October: Friday 1 October 2021, Saturday 2 October 2021, Tuesday 5 October 2021
  • November: Friday 5 November 2021, Saturday 6 November 2021
  • December: Friday 3 December 2021, Saturday 4 December 2021, Tuesday 7 December 2021

Book sale prices:

  • Biographies - $2
  • CD/DVD/talking books - $2
  • Junior / Young Adults - $1
  • Young Adults hardcover - $1.50
  • Fiction - $1.50
  • Large print - $1.50
  • Magazines - 50 cents (or 3 for $1)
  • Non fiction - $3 (or as marked)
  • Williamstown Library
    104 Ferguson Street
    The Book Room, enter via Ferguson Street

    2nd Saturday of the month, 9.30am to 12.30pm

    Friends of Williamstown and Newport Libraries will resume from Saturday 13 March 2021. As part of our commitment to keeping COVID-safe, please note the following conditions of entry when visiting our Book Sales:

    • In line with current State Government requirements, masks will be required inside the Book Room.
    • If staying for longer than 15 minutes, you will need to add your details to the sign in sheet. This is for contact tracing purposes only.
    • A limit of 7 people will be allowed inside the Book Room at a time.

    Upcoming sales:

    Saturday 13 February 2021 CANCELLED due to Stage 4 Coronavirus Restrictions
    Saturday 13 March 2021
    Saturday 10 April 2021
    Saturday 8 May 2021
    Saturday 12 June 2021
    Saturday 10 July 2021
    Saturday 14 August 2021
    Saturday 11 September 2021
    Saturday 9 October 2021
    Saturday 13 November 2021
    Saturday 11 December 2021