Write by the Bay 2019 awards

 rsz wbtb 2019 winners group photo a3109865

The Write by the Bay awards night was celebrated on Thursday 6 June with presentations by the Mayor of Hobsons Bay, Cr Jonathon Marsden and very special guest author, Andy Griffiths. Thank you to everybody who entered. It was a great year.

Congratulations to the following winners:

Short story and poetry

Prep – Grade 1

Short story
Winner: Chloe Pollock The phone that came to life
Highly commended: Evelyn Prismall The magical beach

Winner: Zayn El Hawli Prep

Grade 2 - Grade 3

Short story
Winner: Roy O’Connell The joke
Highly commended: Rylan Carruthers Kidnapped in the night

Winner: Shraavani Ellinavaalu I am a girl from 1851
Highly commended: Julia Bugeja Boris

Grade 4 - Grade 6

Short story
Winner: Nataliya Cvetkovic A small little daffodil
Highly commended: Isabella Sambell Bang!

Winner: Namie Huang Broken
Highly commended: Euan Marshall Goldfields haiku

Year 7 - Year 9

Short story
Winner: Patrick Ma Life in a room
Highly commended: Mei Davis Blue

Winner: Simon Mabic Violence in society
Highly commended: Eva Bugeja Tick tock tick

Year 10 - Year 12

Short story
Winner: Maya Gauci From a Dying astronaut
Highly commended: Emma Maertens The black beach

Winner: Saanjana Kapoor Sun-jugh-na
Highly commended: Ella Griggs Organic


Primary school age: 

Winner: Georgia Letson Ocean
Highly commended: Gideon Chenery Hello, family

Secondary school age:

Winner: Tehya Phillips Playground
Highly commended: Disha Raybarman Remember to believe

Class entry

Winner: Williamstown High School Year 11 VCAL class. Teacher - Grace Robertson.

friends logo  Rotary Summer Writing Prize